Glimpses Of My Childhood

Laurie Manton
3 min readMay 27, 2024

From a toddler to a schoolboy

Having exchanged contracts for what became our first family home — Derna, Addiscombe Road, Crowthorne, my family had their photograph taken in the garden. I am the little person in the rather fetching coat and wearing white ankle socks and sandals. To the right of the photograph, you can just make out a splendid collection of Lupins. They have always been my favourite flower. The year I believe is 1953.

Everyone was dressed to the nines on my first day of school day.. My brother was 12 years older than me and would cycle 25 miles each day to London to attend University College. He died last year just a few days before his 85th birthday.

Living next door were Bob and Daisey Giblett and their daughter Anne. Bob always wore a Trilby and rode a Lambretta scooter to work. Anne had a Morris Minor Traveller. On the other side of our home was Mrs Foreman who was never the nicest person. She had a succession of families renting the upper floor of her large house. The first we knew was Bud and his wife. He was an American sailor based at Blackbushe Airport. He would take me to see the aircraft landing and taking off. He and his wife had a baby and they flew back to America. Tragically, the baby died on the flight home.

The next lodger [I can’t remember his name] worked in an electrical shop near the railway station. He did have an air rifle and once came round to dispatch a rather large Adder [Viper] in our garden. One of the last, I remember was a chap we called Noddy. He had been a fighter pilot in the War and had a gammy leg. He had a Ford Capri. One day he…

--

--

Laurie Manton

I’m a longtime student of funerary architecture photographing headstones and memorials that tell a story. Our Social History is written on those stones